Skip to content

Ramblings…1/22

January 23, 2012
by

The cat was gently pawing the covers, letting me know it was time to get up…and feed her. Just then the radio came on with the NOAA station telling me it would be an interesting day, with severe cold and heavy snow. I got dressed, trying not to step on the very demanding cat at my feet. I made it downstairs and put water on for my tea and proceeded to take the trash/cat litter out to put into the can outside. I opened the door but for some reason it was still dark. When I reached over to move the storm flap from the porch snow poured in. The snow was piled more than ¾ of the way up the 8×10 opening, and now was almost two feet deep in the porch. I tried to close the flap but it was like trying to stop the ocean. More and more poured in as I turned and went in and tried in vane to close the front door….it was then that I did wake up as my radio came on. It was just another dream out here on the edge.

Sorry for my absence of late, just trying to wrap up production, for spring release, on a video project that I have been working on for almost two years. Combine that with not being able to get on line because of many inches of snow covering my WiFi antenna and you have my reasons for not writing any postings. Yes some of you will note I still have the ability to make postings via my ham radio gear, but I didn’t. I think we will leave it at indecision at what to write, trying to focus on the project and some personal issues.

In any event things here on the edge of nowhere are pretty much SSDD. The bitter cold of two weeks ago had given way to more mild temperatures. Then last night a chinook started blowing and it signals a return to some bitter cold. Right now as the Ravins play the Patriots, with the wind still howling and the wind chill at -36, I try and fess up to my laziness of the past weeks. Also I wasn’t effected but almost everyone here on the homestead caught a bad case of some mystery sickness, today everyone is back to normal, (normal for people living in the woods that is). A couple days ago I visited my neighbor down the hill and had one of the best visits ever… probably because we never talked about politics or what is happening in the world outside of our little cosmos. Our conversation dealt for the most part on coffee, firewood and a new 1800’s musket he just purchased on eBay. We also touched on his idea for making a display case for the swords and guns he collects and for extending his cabin.

I will try and get my head out of my…oh well you know what I mean. I will try and let this old warped brain find some suitable thought to write about. But we all know that all I have to do is listen to the news to find something that will aggravate or interest me. So thanks for your patience I hope I can reward you with something of interest shortly.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rosalyn permalink
    January 23, 2012 3:05 pm

    I always thought a Chinook wind was a warm, thawing wind. Must be a whole different weather pattern up on top the hill, here. I guess 2 above zero is warmer, but sure not thawing.

    Like

  2. Jon permalink
    January 24, 2012 4:16 am

    Pete,

    Yup, that wind is bringing in a cold front. Think I’d rather be up there in lieu of 579 accidents in the metro area last Fri. because of 1″ of snow!
    Good to hear from you & stay warm; days are lengthening by 6+ min. /day now.

    Like

  3. AussieAlaskan permalink
    January 24, 2012 7:27 pm

    Love the T-shirt :-))

    Like

  4. Liz permalink
    January 25, 2012 2:48 am

    hummm, I always thought that about warm winds too, maybe back east they think different. But I agree, around here a warm wind scares us to death, cause then we have flooding. Which everywhere but here has had in the last two weeks. We just sorta keep a even keel and have wind, which I hate at least every other day. I also agree that being in towns with snow down here, is almost a joke, nobody knows how to drive in Portland or Salem when it snows, they go idiot on us. At least eastern Oregon people do know how to drive! So I stay home if I can and read or split wood. Sometimes go hunting. But actually not enough snow here to hunt, depressing really. Hope you have a good warm place to be!

    Like

Leave a Reply

