Skip to content

Just a thought

January 14, 2012
by

I may not have the snow like down in Cordova and Valdez as seen in the picture above…. But I do have some cold…yes even for me very cold temperatures as seen on the thermostat on my wall.

I think it is all a mater of perspective. No mater where we live we take what mother nature hands us and do the best we can.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. kara permalink
    January 14, 2012 3:54 pm

    holy shit that was cold,, i’m only a little further down the hill and my coldest was -27,,, Dagonet say’s hi he misses his uncle pete..

    Like

  2. Jon permalink
    January 14, 2012 11:47 pm

    Pete,

    You’re absolutely right. Like here in Eagan, Mn. 52 last Mon. & 8 right now at 8:30 am. Had just 11 yesterday with a wind chill about -7 & you should’ve heard some of the people on my bus bitching about how cold it was. At the beginning of the week the TV hysterical weather people were forecasting an “arctic blast”. Gimme a break. Put on a jacket & shut up! LOL!!
    Although -31 is cold. I remember the old mercury (dare I mention that without the Haz Mat team showing up?) thermometers used to separate about -35 or so.

    So..is that your pickup in Valdez in the pic? You guys are having an old-fashioned winter for sure! Talked to my dear friends in Fairbanks last night & they’re looking at possibly -40 again this week-end.

    Woke up this am & was 61 in the house; furnace not working. Called my furnace installer & he walked me through a process & wala!! Just took off a hose from the pressure valve to the vent to outside & blew & sucked into it to reset it. Up & running before my wife gets up. Best part, no charge, especially a week-end service call. I’ll have to check for debris in the trap later.

    Take care, Jon

    Like

  3. Del permalink
    January 15, 2012 12:25 am

    Was +31 here this am.

    Like

  4. AussieAlaskan permalink
    January 15, 2012 9:21 am

    Take care in the cold, Pete. I tried to find a temp closer to your neck of the woods this morning but couldn’t. -31F in the hills is definitely cold. I know a lot of things start to have problems when it is so cold. Some of my family are out at North Pole – they had a reading of -55F this morning. I am sweltering – or steaming – 90s and 90% humidity yesterday and starting out about the same today. Mother Nature is variable ;-)

    Like

  5. tricialynn burokas permalink
    January 16, 2012 5:57 am

    – 31! !!!! That’s tee shirt & shorts weather!! It’s -45° here in town…

    Like

    • AussieAlaskan permalink
      January 17, 2012 7:18 pm

      They have it too easy in the hills, don’t they? ;-)

      Like

Leave a Reply

