Skip to content

Sex, lives and video

December 7, 2011

The original title for this posting was ‘This and that’, but hits on my blog have slowed so….thus the search engine tag of sex & video, that will draw more hits. Sorry, but my mind has been elsewhere for a few weeks and the news is what it is, SSDD. And it is very hard to get excited about the upcoming presidential primary’s. We know who the Democrat’s will nominate and the Republicans have given up and scraped the bottom of the barrel for there representative. The RNC just needed someone to oppose Obama not beat him so they have done an admirable job of presenting candidates that excite no one. Thus the lack of meat for me to gnaw on and spit out with my verbal abuse.

Also the Occupy wall street movement seems to be in winter recess. Yes there are still the die hards out there causing trouble and even in Fairbanks a hardy few are still camped out at -20 trying to overthrow big business. But for the most part, across the country, they are inside there parents homes staying warm.

So what is there to write about. I could talk about the fact that Christmas was fast approaching. But to open that topic may reveal some personal pain so we will try and stay away from that. As far as my last posting about the severe weather it ended up, ‘much ado about nothing’. We hardy souls here on the homestead had some strong winds and maybe half a foot of snow. I say strong winds because today Rose and Kara were talking about how heavy the winds were last night. Whereas I didn’t hear much, probably because my hearing is shot, and my anemometer said the winds were only around 22 mph. Of course it must be pointed out I just erected the wind gauge at only 20 something feet and it is surrounded by trees. So (((once again))) they were probably right.

I did visit a neighbor and he is in the first stages of cabin fever. (We are now around 4 hours or less of daylight.) He is a former Marine who has lived alone out here for many years, and he was bemoaning the lack of purpose in his life out here in the woods. He like everyone else that lives ‘in the woods’, after a certain time finds things to do to occupy and stimulate our minds. The woman here at 51 mile say that for me I am stuck in a routine. I don’t know if its old age or what, but I find if I do certain things at certain times my days are fulfilled. I look forward to time spent editing video, talking on the ham radio and writing for my blog and yes my late morning visit with them over some coffee. But I have also felt this year for the first time my routine adapting to the lack in daylight. This adaption has given me less time for the things I enjoy, but for some reason I cannot change back to my normal sleep cycle.

It could be cabin fever

or maybe

I am emulating the bears.

Highway sign with Christmas bow

5 Comments leave one →
  1. AussieAlaskan permalink
    December 7, 2011 8:02 pm

    It’s just life, Pete, and many times, it’s boring. And then I wish something different would happen – I didn’t mean I wanted the starter motor to go or the front door lock to jam or the toaster to stop working…..perhaps, boring is a better alternative than different ;-)

    On another matter, I expect to be in Fbks next June – will you be home?

    Like

  2. Jon permalink
    December 8, 2011 3:40 am

    I have something “exciting” for you..I had “notice” from a kidney stone Mon. afternoon that it has decided to excruciatingly painfully move on. To make a long story short, by the time I got to urgent care, my blood pressure was 169/100! They said I was close to passing out from the pain. And to think I drove to my chiropractor & home since I thought I’d strained my groin. My wife took me from home to the clinic. After they got me settled with an Iv, a CT scan confirmed suspicions. so after 4 hrs. we came home & I’ve off one more day to go back to work tomorrow, since they had me taking Vicodan & something else.
    But I’ve been pain-free since yesterday noon & turned in something for analysis I saw in the strainer I pee into. I have a follow-up with my doctor tomorrow at which time I’ll request another CT scan to see if anything is still there; if so I’ll go to the hospital & have it removed, if not what I saw yesterday is the culprit.

    As Aussie said Pete, sometimes life is just boring; no big deal.

    Anyway, bigger than this, remembering those who were lost & their loved ones on this day Dec. 7th.

    Jon

    Like

  3. Rosalyn permalink
    December 9, 2011 4:02 pm

    Hey everyone, he did it, he admitted we are right, again, LOL.

    Jon, drink lemon juice to dissolve or ease the rough edges on the kidney stones. They will either dissolve or round out a bit to be less painful in passing. My daughter had several.

    Merry Christmas and pray for a very good New Year. With the crop of politicians they are palming off on us, I have my doubts on that. Of course, no one in their right mind that is a decent human being would subject themselves to the media for dissection by attempting to run for office.

    Like

  4. Jack Schult W7SCT permalink
    December 10, 2011 2:59 pm

    Hi Pete,

    Great talking with you today on 20 meters. Your blog with the photos puts me right at your cabin. Here in Oregon I live solo on 5 acres, somewhat isolated, and the Log Home is heated only by a woodstove providing space heat and hot water from the stainless steel coil I mounted inside the firebox. 30 glass tubes (Thermo Max) does the job in the summer. So I guess I am on the path that leads North. I want to get back as soon as I can.
    Hope all is well with you. You are living the life that many only dream of.

    73, Jack W7SCT

    Like

    • Rosalyn permalink
      December 11, 2011 3:30 pm

      Yeah, and he bitches about it a lot, but that is just Pete.

      Like

Leave a Reply

