Skip to content

2 + 2 = 4

November 19, 2011
by

Do the math, besides the large donations from individuals looking for influence, the largest support Mr Obama received was from the unions. Now, being a former union member, I have dealt with unions in a previous posting, but the new connections in the news are making me a bit uneasy. I understand the union support for the president because of his return support to keep the unions in place and as strong as ever. I am now talking of the union support of the ‘occupy wall street’ people. For a long while now I have had the ‘live and let live’ opinion of these people while even now not being able to see a clear path on just what they wish to accomplish. But lately the protesters have gotten far more aggressive even to the point of espousing violence, (Molotov cocktails at Macy’s department store), (shutting down roadways in California), (or more unnerving intimidating school children).

Just why would the unions support them with financial aide and a physical show of membership? The protesters are, at least from what I have read, for the stopping of trading at wall street and financial sanctions on big business. Don’t these same business also employ the very same union members who are siding with the protesters? Much has been written on just who are the protesters, like who can spend weeks camped out without any income? Where do they get there money for food? And more basically where do they come from?

Now bear with me my friends I am about to take a ride into the dark side with the ‘black helicopter and area 51 people’. Our President is facing a fast approaching election, with the economy and employment worse than when he took office. He definitely needs some distraction, some movement of the focus of the American people. He may have tried to boost his approval with the illegal attack in Pakistan which resulted in the assassination of Bin Laden or the support he gave for the overthrow of Mubarak in Egypt and Qaddafi in Libya, but now he need something else to divert our focus.

He did indeed receive small approval bumps in the polls after these incidents but we are a fickle people and are always saying, yes but what are you doing for me now. Hence the occupy wall street movement. It would be impossible to say he, or some of his advisors, planed the start of it or that he asked his union cronies to help support it but it does take the publics mind off of how bad a situation we are in. I do not really know where I was headed with this posting but thought I would just share some (fiction?) that has been rolling around in my head for a while.

It just seems odd the confluence of events that have developed around this movement, and the ’cause and effect’ principle leads me to see Obama approval down + union support + occupy wall street = distraction from reality.

I could be wrong and usually am but…

2 + 2 = 4

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jon permalink
    November 19, 2011 10:46 pm

    Even though Hank Williams Jr. didn’t directly implement Obama with his now famous remark although the media tried to say he did, he might not have been far off the mark; my personal opinion of the OWS is today’s version of Hitler’s brown shirts.

    To those of you who think I’m crazy read German history from the late 20s through the 30s.

    Like

  2. Del permalink
    November 20, 2011 7:58 am

    You hit this post on the head. Unions were need ed in the early to mid 20th century not now. I learned that when I was with the labor operators union up there but I learned early It was corrupt. Del

    Like

    • AussieAlaskan permalink
      November 20, 2011 8:10 am

      I sooo agree with you, Del.

      Like

  3. kara permalink
    November 24, 2011 5:14 pm

    happy thanksgiving pete see you tomorrow,,,

    Like

Leave a Reply

