Skip to content

Home again

November 16, 2011
by

I can see by the number of comments that you are still visiting the blog, even though the postings are bare of new photos and not of any length. I feel reassured by your loyalty and also by the fact that what some consider a hobby, ham radio, allows me to still make postings even with no direct internet connection. I would like to dwell on ham radio for a second, because I feel it is important to my sanity and our nations security.

There are now over 700,000 ham radio operators across the United States. Most people would say why bother it is just a hobby, well at it’s basis it is a hobby but it reaches far past that. You can not read about any national disaster without some of those 700,000 people being involved in helping those effected by the disaster. You must remember that when a disaster strikes for the most part your cell phone will end up being useless. Either because the cell towers are down or the lines are so jammed they crash. Not with ham radio. Ham’s are there to relay important information. Information about what equipment or supplies are needed, and information about people needing medical attention. Weather it be a flood, earthquake, fire, explosion, tornado or hurricane hams are there.

Here in Alaska we just went through a super storm along our Western coast. With 75+ MPH winds and storm surges of water 17 feet above there barriers. Many remote towns and villages were affected and it was ham radio operators manning there own gear for 24 hours that insured that any safety information got back to the appropriate agency. Hams are for the most part are ordinary people, who step up when the need is there and never ask for any reward.

Anyway I thank all of you for hanging in there and I will try to get to all that email that piled up while I was gone. Oh I forgot…I said ham radio was important to my sanity, well living alone in a remote cabin is nice but the word ‘alone’ does play a factor on one’s sanity especially when we get to 20 hours of darkness.
So when I reach out over the airwaves and find another of like mind,
it is like finding a nugget of gold, serenity wise.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. AussieAlaskan permalink
    November 16, 2011 7:30 pm

    G’day, Pete – of course, others and I’m still following your blog. You are still up there writing it and getting it online – and you’re right about ham operators, and a lot of unsung people who “step up” during times when the conveniences so many expect as “must have” disappear when Mother Nature takes over. Take care. Not toooo cold yet ;-)

    Like

  2. Jon permalink
    November 16, 2011 11:00 pm

    Pete,

    I always look forward to your next posting too. Keep it up!! Looks like you’re heading for the ice box temperature-wise for a few days. Stay warm; we need your fingers frost-free to send up your postings! LOL!!

    Also looking forward to your response to my last email. Thanks.

    Jon

    Like

  3. E. McNeilage permalink
    November 21, 2011 4:50 am

    Hey Pete, I realize that I am late with the response to your post but I have been enroute to Florida..yes I am a winter wimpy snow bunny that can no longer tolerate the cold damp winds and all that is included in the Great Lakes region winter. Since being retired I have ran away from home in November and do not return to the igloo till April. I love reading your little gems of wisdom, stories, memoirs, vents, and idle thougths…keep up the good work, otherwise I would have no reason to turn the computer on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

