Skip to content

Memories

August 13, 2011
by

Yeah it’s been a few days since I have been on line. Just getting out and enjoying the beginning of fall. The trees around the cabin are touched in places with the yellow that announces that cooler weather is on the horizon. However, last night I tired of watching the same thing on DVD and put in an old movie that had not been touched in quite a while.

I have come to realize that our minds are very good at playing tricks on us. Especially when looking back at things from our past. Case in point, Clint Eastwood. The movie I dug up and watched, ‘Dirty Harry’, my mind told me it was a good one and I “knew” I really like Eastwood’s performance. Well…not so much! To make sure It wasn’t just that one movie I put in another ‘Dirty Harry’ movie and was left with the same feeling, what made me think he could act? The movie itself made me think it was produced by some film school freshman.

My mind had held the idea that Eastwood was a good actor and that these Dirty Harry movies were good. I plan to dig up some John Wayne and Edward G Robinson movies and see if I get the same results.

I wonder what else is my mind lying to me about?

Eisenhower, Kennedy, Reagan, area 51

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Daddy permalink*
    August 24, 2011 2:28 am

    Performances are also set in a certain time, and place. When Dirty Harry came out, it was a unique movie that grabbed an audience. It may not be as timeless as we think it is, but when it came out, it rocked.

    Watch a comedy from the 70’s like Young Frankenstein and you can see the very superficial jokes coming very slowly, and they finally arrive. And even then they’re just “okay” jokes. But when it came out, it was a fast-paced comedy. It’s just that, looking at it compared to today’s farce comedy movies where the stupidity is a whole magnitude higher and faster, movies of yesteryear have to be appreciated differently.

    Like

    • AussieAlaskan permalink
      August 26, 2011 7:18 pm

      I think you are right – the audience appreciates (and expects/accepts) different things and the movies are made to cater for that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

