Skip to content

Ramblings 5.0… from the edge

July 12, 2011
by

After more than a decade of living by myself, my cabin ‘may’ have gotten a bit cave like. With stuff piled up in various conners and things that needed attention or other projects on the ‘to due’ list from three or four years back in time. Now I am not saying that there were stacks of books forming pathways to the kitchen and stairs, or piles of seasonal clothing, (in summer a mountain of winter cloths and vise versa), well maybe I had a few small piles. Then there was the radio/computer room here things did get a bit out of hand. There are wires of every type running across the desk between the various radios and from my computer there are many cables going to the external drives, printers, DVD burner and digital tape deck all of which just laid on the table/desk to be moved when I need the space.

So stated as simply as I can I have been cleaning. As hard it is to believe to some who know me, that is the truth. Being a man it is almost against nature to scrub floors, dust or move stuff that has piled up over the years. I think a good percentage of men are “blessed” with a certain gene that allows us to not see a mess when one exists. I think this same gene also allows us to (put things off that needed doing) until they absolutely have to be done. Because of this genetic anomaly in me and certain other men when you live somewhere for over a decade and have little or no visitors… things get a bit out of hand.

I know there are some readers of this blog looking for the second part of the Dalton story, and I know I have not been on line and answering email lately, well this posting will not address those issues but it will explain whats been up out here at the cabin.

This coming weekend my whole family, and my daughter-in-law’s parents from Germany will be visiting Alaska and I will meet my grandson for the first time. I sometimes find myself walking around in a daze thinking of this meeting. I see pictures of my grandson on my grand-kids blog and end up smiling to myself for hours. I have seen him with his mothers parents and I envy them the time they have with him. So next weekend is very important to me.

Thus the major clean up. At first it was merely a matter of wanting to make the cabin “kid safe”. Remove access to handguns, rifle’s, knives, explosives, and anything that might hurt them. But as I started to dig through the piles of stuff laying around I decided to make the cabin more ‘visitor friendly’, buy cleaning the decades old dust and dirt. That is when I found that by late afternoon, each day, when I finally sat down to work on the ‘Dalton #2’ posting and video I just did not have any creative juice left in me.

So there you have it. Today I finished with the first floor and tomorrow I start up here in the loft. With some good luck I will be back to editing some video and finishing the haul road posting, by Tuesday or Wednesday at the latest.

Then I will have to learn to live with a clean organized cabin,
which I am sure means I will not be able to find anything….anymore.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jon permalink
    July 12, 2011 7:58 pm

    Pete,

    All I can say is “good luck with that!!” But when all is done you will really enjoy your company along with that sense of accomplishment!

    Jon

    Like

  2. TexasJim permalink
    July 13, 2011 6:25 am

    We have a cleaning lady comes in every other Saturday. She is from Mexico and we have a hard time talking to her. She moves THINGS around and it takes us days and days to find them. But I can tell you the house smells good and clean. I know you will feel good about your house when the guest arrive.
    I hope their visit is a good one

    Like

  3. AussieAlaskan permalink
    July 13, 2011 7:33 pm

    HAHA Pete – love it! However, you don’t have to be male or live in a place 10 years – I’m proof of that ;-) But enjoy the rellies – that’s the most important thing!!!

    Like

  4. ccrmom permalink
    July 14, 2011 12:35 am

    If you have a German mother in law (daughter’s) visiting, it’s a good thing you are cleaning!! I have two German DIL’s and when their mothers come to visit the dust (in their homes there is no dust) Flies! My eldest daughter in law bathed the beagle three times in one week so she would be clean enough for her mother. When mom came, the DIL was mortified, because she is a short little thing, and could not see the top of the refrigerator. Mom noticed the dust on the refrigerator and asked about “Don;t you clean up here?” and DIL was reduced to tears!!

    Like

  5. AussieAlaskan permalink
    July 15, 2011 10:06 pm

    Well….how are you all???? BBQ or two? Photos?

    Like

Leave a Reply

