Skip to content

Ramblings 4.0… from the edge

July 1, 2011
by

Tricia mid-climb

Children…now adults but in our hearts forever our child. I ask no pardon for revisiting this thread of thought, because those of us out there who have children know full well they are never far from our heart or mind. Because they are our flesh and blood they make us proud and we also feel there pain.

This past week I felt both proud and helpless… working 12 hours a day six days a week was the proud part, seeing the physical effects was the helpless part. As a father I feel as though I should have some super power to shield my children against all the bad in the world. Sometimes I get mad at myself when I can not just by mere act of will make things better for them.

As we grow older we sometimes look for a true purpose for our lives. Thinking back to my early years as a parent I did not do a very good job of being there for my children. I didn’t set a good example as a father figure and now try to make up for this by being there to help and guide them. To be able to step up at any instant and by act of will make life better.

I guess the reality is we just can not do this every time we are needed. Maybe this is a good thing, maybe they at certain time’s in there lives must go through the fire to ‘learn’ for themselves about life, so that when we are no longer here to help they will survive.

Life I guess at times gives them a hard lesson for them to experience
and a hard lesson for us to watch.

For those of you keeping track, the big fire North of us pretty much gone. By that I mean no new updates on the fire web site and no visible smoke…. not that anyone could see any smoke. Its June in Alaska and that means RAIN… past three days it rained off and on sometimes coming down in buckets. I haven’t seen more than a couple hundred feet in any direction because of the mist and fog. So fire gone, (we hope for the year), rain here and most of the small streams are flooded. Another ham friend in Central had his bridge knocked out so he is stuck on the wrong side… But being an Alaskan living in the bush he is fine and will just wait the water out.

Just got back in, my friend Kara came over to see if my camera was working. Rose was hauling a snack stand up the hill and she wanted a picture. I found some new batteries and, well the results below… Oh the plow truck could only make it so far, Rose had to break out one of the big guns to move it the rest of the way. So if any of you are in the neighborhood and need a sandwich or snack *_* Also the first installment of the Dalton road trip should be out by the weekend. Sorry no writers prose just the facts mile ‘0’ to mile 115 at coldfoot. Just started to gather a few video clips that I hope will go up with the posting.

Moving Alaskan style

8 Comments leave one →
  1. AussieAlaskan permalink
    July 1, 2011 8:16 pm

    I have found that I am amazingly (to myself) brave and strong when it comes to standing between my child and things which I think require it. I never thought I could/would do the things I did. Guess that’s just being a parent. And although I’m older, and so is she, somehow for my child, I am still stronger/braver than I thought I was/am. Good thing about kids, eh? :-)

    Like

  2. Rosalyn permalink
    July 2, 2011 4:08 pm

    LOL, the plow truck didn’t just balk at dragging the shack up the hill, it died. No getting it restarted, I think it needs a fuel pump. One more thing to try to get fixed before winter or there is going to be a lot of shoveling going on. August is the rainy month, June is usually fairly good weather but with all this darn global warming, we just have to sit out the cold damp days.

    Like

  3. kara permalink
    July 3, 2011 5:06 pm

    and my first customer of course was pete,, i sell sandwiches and ice cream what does pete buy,,,, tomatoes,,,, hahahaha gotta love being way out here.

    Like

  4. Daddy permalink*
    July 4, 2011 12:14 am

    What I wouldn’t give for some cool rainy days down in Texas right about now.

    Like

  5. Eileen permalink
    July 6, 2011 9:33 pm

    Damn, if it isn’t one thing it is another. I do want to see those videos Pete, I save any large dowloads for when I go to the library as this dial up is a pain for waiting for a video to do it’s thing, and everything seems to go in slo mo…I know what you mean with things never going according to plan, last night here in the civilized rural area, I got a knock on my door just shortly before 3 a.m. to let me know that two of my horses were out…duh…how convenient, luckily the boys were working on a car in the workshop and heard the stomping…get the grain bucket lock them in the barn…this morning I see where they knocked down the entire post and two sections of rails…guess what I will be doing today,…

    Like

  6. tricia permalink
    July 7, 2011 11:21 pm

    What’s the name of the sandwich shack?how about… “Gine’s”

    Like

  7. kara permalink
    July 8, 2011 12:17 pm

    roght at the moment it’s called the elliott snack shack very unimaginative,,, but next year we’re thinking of changing it to the hit and run snack shack,, my nephew came up with it,,

    Like

  8. Eileen permalink
    July 12, 2011 8:20 pm

    Kara, I love the name “hit and run” your nephew sounds like a true Cobb . lol good luck with the stand.

    Like

Leave a Reply

