Skip to content

Fish tale

January 6, 2011
by

Dear reader with this excerpt I am trying something different. Over coffee today I mentioned to my friends Rose and Kara that I was thinking of making posts about some of my adventures in Alaska. But thought it would not be of interest to those who visited. They said I should give it a try, so below is a short piece about a few minutes one morning, that remains forever in my memories. Please let me know if I should continue to post stories like this as part of my blog. But remember the story about opening Pandora’s box, when you comment.

– – –

As the morning broke with an azure blue sky, I was finishing my coffee and preparing the boat for the days fishing. A noise alerted me and I looked over to the opposite shore as a cow moose and her young came to the waters edge for a drink. The water, between us, was alive with the mist rising like curling fingers of smoke from the clear smooth surface of the river. This I knew was to be a good day for fishing in the Nowitna wildlife refuge.

With my guests aboard and there gear ready I cut the engine as we silently drifted into a small feeder lake. It was perfect. The shore was lined with tall dark lush green grasses and the water was so clear you could see the bottom. Call me odd but in the total silence of this majestic place the sound of that first cast and the lure hitting the water was akin to the greatest symphony ever created.

Only a few seconds later the silence was broken by a storm of noise as monster Pike took the lure and fought for its life with every ounce of strength it had. The fury with witch it fought so amazed my guest that her facial expression went from a major smile to a look that said my God what have I gotten into.

 


6 Comments leave one →
  1. tricia permalink
    January 6, 2011 5:16 pm

    my vote is….. keep it up!! you deffinatly paint a picture when u r telling a story!!

    Like

  2. Jon permalink
    January 6, 2011 11:53 pm

    Speaking for me, I’d sure be interested in hearing more of your adventures, Pete.
    I always enjoy reading these stories.
    Jon

    Like

  3. Daddy permalink*
    January 7, 2011 12:51 am

    Count me in too! I love stories. And you do a good job painting the picture!

    Like

  4. ccrmom permalink
    January 7, 2011 2:25 am

    You bet we want to hear more.. this just whet my appetite.. what happened next? Did you get your limit? Did you see bears? Was the rest of the day a beautiful as you described that early morning!! More More More PLEASE! Mary Ann

    Like

  5. Del permalink
    January 7, 2011 3:06 am

    Yep you tell stories of times I have been through as well.. Brings up good memories of life in the bush I left many years ago……. Keep it up Pete…

    Like

  6. Gail Drake permalink
    January 10, 2011 11:58 am

    I enjoyed your short story. Let’s have more!
    Except for the moose, I’ve had the same experience here in Maine, but the fish was a largemouth bass.

    Like

Leave a Reply

