Skip to content

My Christmas

December 26, 2010
by

My son prompted me to upload part of an email i sent him today. He also advised a photo, but I am sending this posting through my Ham radio, because of snow between our dish and the satellite, so no photo.

Woke up this morning to light snow and warm temp’s. Santa was here during the night, I know because there are moose track in my drive way, (seriously they are everywhere). My daughter, tricia, and I exchanged gifts Christmas eve, and shortly we head back to Fairbanks so she can go to dinner at her friends parents home.

The ride in over the so called TV “Ice Road” was wonderful, with the trees bending over to touch the earth laden with heavy snow and the moose all along the road, looking up to puzzle at us as our truck passes. The return home was equal to the drive in except for the snow now coming down in earnest on top of the two mountains I summit on the way back.

I returned in time for Christmas dinner with my second family, and finally a nice walk back to my cabin through the lightly falling snow.

As I sit in my cabin I realize you truly do not need “things” at Christmas to be happy you need family and true friends.

Merry Christmas
pete

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Del permalink
    December 26, 2010 10:27 pm

    Have a happy new year as well Pete.

    Like

  2. Jon permalink
    December 27, 2010 12:50 am

    Well said, Pete. My wife & I decided to not exchange gifts this year, just be here together.
    Well, she snuck one in on me. Gave me a card with a $100 bill and a bottle of Christian Brothers brandy. Funny thing, once in awhile we read each others’s minds and she sort of frowned when I came home on Fri. with a smaller jug of it, not knowing she’d already bought some! Between the two of these I’ll probably still have some left by next Christmas as much as I drink anymore.
    So I’ll have to get out there and get her something now. So much for no gifts, huh?
    Stay warm up there. We have 20″ of snow on the ground and for the first time since we’ve been here (1998) I pulled snow off the roof Christmas Eve besides blowing our latest 5″ fall here in the Twin Cities.
    Happy and Blessed New Year to all from us.
    Jon

    Like

  3. AussieAlaskan permalink
    December 27, 2010 8:25 am

    You are right, Pete. And if anyone doesn’t think so, just imagine opening gifts alone…it’s sharing the day’s activities with family and friends that makes it good. And in this day and age, being able to keep in touch with family and friends who are far away. Enjoy!

    Like

  4. Rosalyn permalink
    December 31, 2010 5:42 pm

    Nice, but what is the 2nd hill?

    Like

Leave a Reply

