Skip to content

Wilderness Words (NEVER FORGET)

August 12, 2010

The picture presented here has been on my cabin door since right after 9-11. It is not in the best shape but it carries, to me, the thought to ‘never forget’. I am sure it echo’s the pictures of Perl Harbor that my father had around his desk many years after world war two. There are certain tragedies that have remained with me my entire life. First of course would be the passing of my wife and parents but right after that is the senseless killing of 3,000 everyday people. They were not killed in a war or disaster but because a group of people do not ‘like’ the freedom we have to do and say what we please. Now the same people are attempting to build a mosque on the very ground that these innocent people died on.

 

I am not a racist or a bigot. I am not only color blind I am also indifferent to the God that you may pray to or not. However I have never claimed to be politicly correct in my words, actions or thoughts but I believe you have a right to your beliefs and actions as long as they do not infringe on mine. That said what do you think would happen if the present day nazi party decided to build an office on the grounds of Auschwitz? Or the clan was to build an office in South Africa? Is it any different to building a mosque on ground zero?

Remember I am a little secluded out here and only heard about this last week. Being in the woods has it benefits because when they were discussing this on the radio and my head was exploding and blood coming out of my eyes, no one could here me screaming at the radio. I was in total disbelief not only that this was proposed but that the mayor of New York said it was a good thing, a way to build bridges I think he hinted at.

(new update…today I learned that our government, which is broke, is financing the mosque’s emum on a world trip to raise funds to build the mosque.) Picture now blood pumping from my ears as well as my eyes.

This being America there is pretty much no legal way to stop this, but if the group responsible for building the mosque wanted to build bridges, between our peoples, they would never attempt to do it on that hallowed site. They would use common sense and figure out that there may be some people that find it offensive, and that it would create tension and maybe even result in reprisals, maybe thats what they want. But they appear to be determined, and to this old man, can only lead to one conclusion that they were thumbing there noses at us and reveling in the fact that the mosque was built where there first major act of terrorism was committed.

If indeed they are supporting terrorism, I and many Alaskan’s ask they come visit our state where we are note quite so politically correct, as evidenced below.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Del permalink
    August 12, 2010 9:36 pm

    I totally agree Pete…. You are spot on on this one and hard to add to it….
    The greatest generation that are mostly gone must be spinning like tops and the ones still with us are to be admired…..

    Like

    • August 13, 2010 11:37 am

      I agree those who serve, have served or died insuring our freedom I am sure would be outraged at where the definition of those freedoms are going.

      Like

  2. Rosalyn permalink
    August 13, 2010 2:27 pm

    What happened to my post? I think it is criminal to allow a mosque to be built on ground zero, a slap in the face to everyone that lost friends or family there.

    Like

  3. Jon ( xpipelyner) permalink
    August 13, 2010 11:19 pm

    Pete,

    I can only imagine what some of our deceased veterans would think if they knew this crap was going on. I’m preaching to the choir when I say no way, go build it somewhere else but not there!!! Bloomberg along with all these other politically correct politicians needs to be replaced!!

    Like

    • August 14, 2010 12:41 pm

      When the SHTF the liberals in NY will be killing each other over bread and water. Then they will realize that maybe it was stupid to be so PC to worry about hurting everyone’s feelings. But they keep electing the same #$@ for mayor, congresswomen and president so I ho;d out no hope for them.

      Like

  4. kara permalink
    August 15, 2010 12:38 pm

    i was just reading something online about where illegal immagrants from anywhere can get a drivers license without showing proof of being a citizen they can in fact use there papers from whatever country they come from for the license, these states are new mexico,, washington state,, and utah,,so guess where all the illegals are moving to, or just going to get a license so they can get the free benefits they want most of them are using these to get welfare,, housing,, and apartments,,

    Like

  5. Rosalyn permalink
    August 15, 2010 3:49 pm

    I must say, reading the so-called News any more is one way to assure that I stay even tempered. Mad all the time.

    Like

    • AussieAlaskan permalink
      August 15, 2010 11:14 pm

      Good one, Rose – made me chuckle :-)

      Like

Leave a Reply

