Skip to content

American Patriotism not political correctness

February 5, 2014

P.1I was using some strong language about my seat companion on the flight in from Texas because he coughed all the way from Seattle and now as I woke at 6 am this morning with a running nose I too was coughing like I was smoking a bad cigar. This distraction however did not block out the talk show host on the radio as he berated the Ft. Collins High School administrators for trying to block the students from celebrating an “America Day” on Monday. Fortunately last night I had already gone to two different news sources The Denver Post and for some political ideological balance The Blaze to find out what was behind the rhetoric.

It appears that each year the school celebrates ‘spirit week’ and this year the students wanted to add (“Merica Day”) to it spirit week events. What the pit bulls at the news outlets failed to emphasis at first was that the school officials only wanted to change the name of the day from “Merica” Day to oh I don’t know maybe America Day. This was because they felt that the term “Merica” is used by some nationalities in a derogatory way when referring to America. The student council proposed “My Country Monday” but settled on “America Monday”

So you ask what’s the big deal, I say, besides the news media choosing to word the headline to draw your attention, this one incident is anathema to what our children are being indoctrinated into in every school in our country. The chest pounding pride to be an American is fast vanishing being replaced by the overpowering need to be one with all the people of the world. The political correctness of never excluding any nationality, religion or lifestyle has been indoctrinated into our children to the extent they think its should come before patriotism for their own country.

I am not a national isolationist or a racist bigot. I was just taught by my parents and in my school that in life what mattered was God, Family and Country and everything else came after that. I do not feel bad that I believe this and would fight to defend my right to practice and protect it.

Yes my grandparents came from another country.

Yes that makes me Lithuanian but not Lithuanian American…

and when my national anthem is playing

I am a proud, hand on my chest, tears in my eyes American.

god-bless-america

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2014 7:11 am

    Thank you for posting. It’s sad. I remember saying the Pledge of Allegiance in school every morning and then I prayed every morning because I went through the catholic school system. A shame that we can’t have those things in school anymore because of their “political correctness”.

    • February 6, 2014 7:28 pm

      When you have the decline in family values promoted by TV and the movies added to the sex-ed and tolerance classes in school and finish it off with a prevalent concept that we should be ashamed to be Americans and like I have said before I truly fear for my grand-children’s future.

  2. Terry permalink
    February 6, 2014 1:11 pm

    Off topic – loved the photo of the ice road truck :-D

  3. Jon permalink
    February 8, 2014 1:13 pm

    Lauramacky, you took my words right out of my fingers, but I’ll also say that we used to say the Pledge of Allegiance every morning in grade school; picking a different kid each day. I always dreaded this because of my stuttering in that we not only had to lead but go up to the front of the class & face everyone to start.

    What part of Alaska was the pic of Denali taken from? Looks like a town in SE Alaska, or possibly on the Kenai Peninsula. Love it & the Wrangells pic. I’ll wait for the Ice Road Truckers’ new season even thought they’ve not been in Alaska for 2 seasons.

  4. February 12, 2014 8:47 am

    I’m jealous Pete as its just -11.2 F here with partly cloudy skies! The ‘lame-stream media’ are overwhelmingly liberal and are no longer ‘journalists’ as they all have an agenda be it left, right or whatever. True journalism involves reporting facts and possibly drawing unbiased conclusions; there are few true journalists left in America and none of them work for the lame-stream media outlets. The country has been becoming more polarized across the previous decades and the media has fanned the flames of this partisanship and chosen its side. Our ‘liar in chief’ has done more to exacerbate this polarization than any other single person in this county’s history. I’m not surprised at the situation you shared; it seems every media outlet has an agenda to push and they will spin facts, alter reporting and conveniently omit facts or present supposition as fact to drive their agenda. ‘We the people’ need to awaken to this nonsense and start fighting back by ignoring their products in favor of real news outlets. Of course this requires critical thinking and most Americans are either happy with their entitlements and so will not rock the boat or in denial and think ‘The Daily Show’ is a news program!! For God’s sake I watched it way back in the 90′s when it was first aired on Comedy Central with Craig Kilbourn as the host; it was an unashamed satire of the news and never took itself seriously. It could be very funny then; somehow the younger generation decided across the next 15 years that it was a news program. One more example of both an inability to think critically and the willingness to be led around by the lame-stream media. Maybe some day the sheep will look up..?!?

Leave a Reply

