Skip to content

Returning home…

February 2, 2014

Dear friends and visitors after nearly two months with my son and his family and having been shown love and respect that may not be warranted I am once again in my home. The 3000 mile journey to this wooded haven though not unlike those return trips of past visits…seemed a bit more taxing on this old man. Today two days after my return I still am not quite the same as when I left. So I beg your indulgence a while longer for me to absorb my surroundings and find that mental state of curmudgeon-nes that you have enjoyed in my past postings.

My arrival in Fairbanks at 2 am was greeted like these fellow passengers
with nothing but cool air (-2) and darkness.

DSCF1289

The road home was ice covered and uneventful
except for the beauty of the journey itself.

DSCF1300

Thanks to the work of my daughter and her boyfriend
access to my home was clear of ice and snow.

DSCF1304

I did see by the height of the snow that my dear friend Rose had plowed,
that I not only missed a heat wave but a couple decent snowfalls.

DSCF1311

Though no amount of coffee and nicotine will clear this fog,
when I next return to these pages of cyber musings
I will be ready to gnaw on some bone that surely needs to be chewed on.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2014 5:40 am

    Welcome home!

  2. February 3, 2014 8:49 am

    Welcome Home Pete!! Glad you made the trip safe and sound. I hear ya regarding long distance flights and age; even in first class its just not that comfortable and ‘cattle class’ is like being wedged into a tiny box for the duration of the flight. I still prefer non-stops but I changed my seating preference from windows to the aisle so I can get up and stretch my legs as well as work out any kinks every few hours. And there’s nothing like the time zone differences to exacerbate one’s disorientation! At least you were flying west; I’d rather fly four hours west than just two hours east!! Relax, take it easy and settle into the rhythm of Livengood living once again; your fans will be here once you again feel like writing..!

  3. February 4, 2014 12:03 pm

    I’ll gladly wait to read more. Rest and enjoy being home.

  4. Jon permalink
    February 4, 2014 3:02 pm

    Good to have you back, Pete.
    I don’t think anyone on your blog reads &/or comments on the News-Miner Arctic Cam, which is where I think I ran across your blog. Anyway, the folks at the News-Miner have decided to make any commentary on any news story & the Arctic Cam go through face book instead of just signing in & going forward. Same thing to access the comments already posted. Since I don’t belong to face book, they’ve lost me. More bs.
    There, since you’re not grumbling yet, I just did!! LOL!

  5. Terry permalink
    February 6, 2014 1:41 am

    You’re back! Glad you had a lovely time with the family and grand kids. All things considered, life could be worse. And nothing stays the same.

  6. unalaska permalink
    February 7, 2014 8:25 pm

    Welcome home. What a wonderful 2 months you must have had. Rest up.

Leave a Reply

