Skip to content

Fairbanks records first, but unlikely to be the last, 40-below temperature of the season – Fairbanks Daily News-Miner: Local News

December 27, 2013

It seems unfair as I sit soaking up the Texas sun at 58 degrees

but this article from my hometown newspaper caught my eye.

Fairbanks records first, but unlikely to be the last, 40-below temperature of the season – Fairbanks Daily News-Miner: Local News.

It seems some of the collage students are immune to our Alaskan weather

40-Below-in-Fairbanks

Or how about these hardy people who just need to take a quick dip in the lake

2013 Polar Plunge 12

However I think for these last few weeks

I will sit back and enjoy the 90 degree difference between  Fairbanks and Texas

2013-12-22 09.09.13-2

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2013 11:35 am

    We’re a bit colder up here, 53 below, but the good news is, the weatherman says it only feels like 53 below. :)

    Like

    • December 27, 2013 1:47 pm

      Hi Dave looks like me and the Mrs are enjoying the 50+ heat of Texas…naw I am not rubbing it in but heck that is a 100 degrees warmer than at your place..Have a great New Year..

      Like

    • Terry permalink
      December 27, 2013 7:57 pm

      No wind chill, eh? ;-)

      Like

  2. December 27, 2013 8:03 pm

    Hey Pete, who’s the good looking girl on the bench, your date?

    Like

  3. Jon permalink
    December 28, 2013 1:31 pm

    Well, some of that cold air is ending up here. 35 tomorrow (Sat.) & barely above zero on Sunday with teens below zero most of next week at night.
    In spite of our country’s leadership & present financial situation, I’m wishing all of you a Happy & Blessed 2014!

    Lauramacky, if you see this, my wife’s sis. lives in Eastern Samar. We are preparing to repair the house starting next month. They have found a contractor back there willing to do the job, especially on the roof. We should have that house here; not a crack in the concrete walls with those 180 mph winds. And the only reason the roof was damaged was from the power pole with the transformer snapping off & smashing down on the roof.
    You said in a previous comment your sil is south of the main area of impact. Does she live in Mindanao?

    Like

  4. eli hills permalink
    December 30, 2013 7:43 pm

    only wondered how you can say my Alaska when you don’t even pay rent to live in it.

    Like

    • December 30, 2013 8:59 pm

      No I am blessed to not have to pay rent in the conventional sense but I have worked for years helping the woman who owns the land I live on. And over the years in Alaska some drops of my blood have touched Alaska’s soil from Deadhorse to Valdez and from Tok to Galena, so just maybe I am entitled to call it my Alaska.

      Like

Leave a comment